Candidates to the Board Election

As a member of the BCI Society, you are invited to participate in the election process by voting fin the board election.

The Board of the BCI Society consists of 12 seats. Three members are officers: the President, Vice President and Treasurer/Secretary. Officers are elected by the Board and stay on for 2 years. On March 13 of 2018, four members will end their term, which is normally 3 years. However, José del R. Millán will stay on because he is Vice President.

Three seats are open for elections. Seats are associated with specific categories as described below. For this election cycle, to ensure a balanced BCI fields representation, the board has decided to open 2 seats for the implantable BCI fields (IC/IO) and 1 for the non-invasive fields (NC/NO).

The candidates for the elections are:


Jing Jin, Ph.D
Jing Jin (full professor, IEEE Senior Member, Chair of the Department, BCI team head at ECUST), applies BCI on ALS, stroke and coma patients, and optimizes the visual/audio BCI paradigm. He wants to contribute for the BCI society (organize meetings and other related activities). He will devote himself to increase the influence and visibility of BCI and develop new techniques for patients.

Louis Mayaud
I have been involved in the field of BCI since 2006 have since applied myself to their transfer to real life medical applications. I believe the BCI society is a major stakeholder in the field and would love to involve myself at that level. I believe that my industry involvement and the rigorous scientific approach that I support at Mensia could serve the board of the BCI society to get a broader understanding of the constraints that shape the way BCI technologies do transfer to the real world.

Gernot Müller-Putz, Ph.D
I am in the BCI field since my first project as student in 1998 – thus celebrating 20 years of BCI research. Did my MSc, PhD, Habilitation in BCI. Involved in several EU-project with BCI content and coordinated BNCI Horizon 2020 and MoreGrasp. Currently running an ERC Consolidator Grant on non-invasive Control. I participated in the last 5 BCI Meetings and will do this year my 6th.

CS Nam
As a founding member of the BCI society, I have been actively conducting non-invasive BCI research for several years. I founded the journal, “Brain-Computer Interfaces,” and have been acting as the Editor-in-Chief since 2014. I am also the main editor (with Drs. Nijholt and Lotte) of “Brain–Computer Interfaces Handbook: Technological and Theoretical Advances,” published by CRC Press. If elected as a board member representing the non-invasive BCI area, I will seek and continue my service for the BCI society.


Karunesh Ganguly, M.D., Ph.D
I am a clinical neurologist and scientist at UCSF.  My laboratory conducts research into the development of invasive neural interfaces to enhance motor function after stroke.  We conduct both basic and clinical research on this topic.  I have greatly enjoyed attending the BCI meetings.  My main goal as a potential board member is to represent researchers with a basic and clinical focus on the development of invasive neural interfaces.

Aysegul Gunduz, Ph.D
Dr. Gunduz directs the Brain Mapping Laboratory at the University of Florida, where her work focuses on identifying precursors to behavior and aftereffects of stimulation in human neural networks through invasive electrophysiology and bioimaging. Her group aims to translate this knowledge into clinical diagnostic and therapeutic systems to improve quality of life of those suffering from neurological disorders, such as neurosurgical patients with epilepsy and movement disorders, and stroke patients undergoing neurorehabilitation. As a board member, Dr. Gunduz would bring awareness to the BCI community of first generation neural implants that provide chronic recordings in humans, and invite neuromodulation experts to join our society’s meetings to create further synergies. Dr. Gunduz is at the forefront of closed-loop deep brain stimulation with her work in diverse patient populations including Parkinson’s disease, essential tremor, Tourette syndrome and epilepsy.

Masayuki Hirata, M.D., Ph.D
I am a neurosurgeon and Professor at the Department of Clinical Neuroengineering in Osaka University, Japan. I am currently developing a fully implantable BCI device for use by severely disabled patients, in collaboration with a medical device company and several academic research colleagues. I will begin a clinical trial using the implantable device next year. In addition to my medical degree, I have a degree in Engineering from the Department of Engineering, Tokyo University with a focus on robotics, and also have extensive experience in product development. Utilizing this broad experience, I would like to contribute to the BCI Society through facilitating the symbiotic linkage of BCI research, clinical application and commercialization.

Mariska Vansteensel
I am Mariska Vansteensel, researcher in the BCI lab of Prof. Nick Ramsey since 2007. My research has focused on developing an implantable ECoG-based BCI for communication, the demonstration of its independent home use by people with severe paralysis, and on improving speed and versatility of ECoG-based BCIs. I am standing for election, because I hope to contribute to advancing BCI research and to translation of the knowledge gained into devices that really benefit the diseased and healthy end-users.

The current board of the BCI Society:

Nick Ramsey (Utrecht, The Netherlands) (President)
José  R. Millán (Lausanne, Switzerland) (Vice-President)
Christoph Guger (Graz, Austria) (Treasurer)
Brendan Z. Allison (San Diego, CA, USA)
Donatella Mattia (Fondazione Santa Lucia, Italy)
Jennifer Collinger (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Marc Slutzky (Northwestern University, USA)
Shangkai Gao (Beijing, China)– TERM ENDS 2018
Leigh Hochberg (Boston, MA, USA)– TERM ENDS 2018
Jane Huggins (Ann Arbor, MI, USA)
Andrea Kübler (Würzburg, Germany)– TERM ENDS 2018
Jonathan Wolpaw (Albany, NY)