BCI Meeting 2016: Student Travel Support Program


International Brain-Computer Interface (BCI) Meeting 2016

May 30th – June 3rd, 201

The 6th International BCI Meeting Travel Support Committee will consider applications for a limited number of student scholarships of up to $1100 each to reimburse for meeting registration, housing and travel expenses.

To be considered, applicants must be enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program or be engaged in postdoctoral studies. Preference will be given to applicants who have not received a scholarship to attend the BCI Meeting in previous years.

In addition, the National Science Foundation is funding a special program for five students from underrepresented minorities (African American, Hispanic/Latino, or Native American) to attend the conference with travel support of up to $1600.  If you qualify and are interested in this scholarship, please indicate this on your application form.

Both NIH and NSF funding will also provide travel support of up to $1100 for a small number of female students.

Note that recipients of the NSF funding will be expected to attend the NSF Student Colloquium Satellite Event held on Monday afternoon May 30th.

Applications must include:

Documents (1) and (2) must be submitted in one email sent to students@bcisociety.org with the student’s name in the “subject”.

Document (3) should be sent by your supervisor independently to students@bcisociety.org with the student’s name in the “subject”.

The applications will be closed at 11:59 pm, March 15, 2016, EDT-USA. Decisions will be made by March 31, 2016 with notifications to follow. Funds will be distributed after the BCI Meeting contingent upon submission of original receipts for expenses.

Many thanks to our scholarship sponsors:

The National Institutes of Health:

  • National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
  • Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health & Human Development (NICHD)
  • National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
  • National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

The National Science Foundation


2016 BCI Meeting Student Travel Award Recipients
Jitka Annen University of Liège
Nivedita Arora Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta
Bryan Baxter University of Minnesota
Chadwick Boulay The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute & University of Ottawa
Sebastián Castaño Candamil University of Freiburg
Hohyun Cho Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology
Jillian Clements Duke University
Tiffany Corbet Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Álvaro Costa García Miguel Hernández University of Elche
Anibal Cotrina Atencio Federal University of Espirito Santo
Sharlene Flesher University of Pittsburgh
Elliott Forney Colorado State University
Bruna Girvent Northeastern University
Sinan Gok New Jersey Institute of Technology
Paula Gonzalez-Navarro Northeastern University
Marzieh Haghighi Northeastern University
Christian Herff University of Bremen
Zahra Khaliliardali Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Eli Kinney-Lang University of Edinburgh
Takumi Kodama University of Tsukuba
Louis Korczowski University Grenoble-Alpes
Avinash Kumar Singh National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Ilya Kuzovkin University of Tartu
Hadar Levi Aharoni Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Chiara Liti University of Rome Tor Vergata
Adrien Martel Trinity College Dublin
Stephanie Martin Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Bojana Mirkovic University of Oldenburg
Mahta Mousavi University of California, San Diego
Hooman Nezamfar Northeastern University
Sumner Norman University of California, Irvine
Patrick  Ofner Graz University of Technology
Mariana Pedroso Branco University Medical Center Utrecht
Joana Pereira Graz University of Technology
Md Rakibul Mowla Kansas State University
Dylan Royston University of Pittsburgh
Efraim Salari Utrecht University
Ignatius Sapto Condro Atmawan Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg
Anouck Schippers Leiden University
Andreas Schwarz Graz University of Technology
Margaret Thompson University of Washington, Seattle
Torres-Garda Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica Optica y Electrónica
Si Long
Tou University of Michigan
Max van den Boom Medical Center Utrecht
Thibault Verhoeven Ghent University
Maitreyee Wairagkar University of Reading
Mark Wronkiewicz University of Washington
Xiao Xiaolin Tianjin University
Hagar Yamin Tel-Aviv university and Tel-Aviv Sourasky Medical Center
Catharina Zich University of Oldenburg
Raney Folland University of Washington
Ivan Walker Georgia Institute of Technology

The BCI Meeting is organized by the BCI Society
Diamond Level Sponsors


NIH Grant Award Number: R13DC015188

NIBIB nsfNSF Award Id : 1636691
gtec L_BP_4c_Web