Society News

June 16th, 2017 – Scholarships for Nat17

Zander Laboratories is offering 12 scholarships, which will waive the registration fee for the NAT17 conference, as well as provides a one-year free membership to the Society for Neuroadaptive Technology.

More information and how to apply can be found here.

June 16th, 2017 –  BCI Award Submission deadline is June 30th!

Please share this information in your social networks and invite your contacts to submit their abstracts and join the BCI Award Groups on LinkedIn or on Facebook

March 19th, 2017 – International Annual BCI Research Award

The International Annual BCI-Research Award is one of the top accolades in BCI research and has been created to recognize outstanding and innovative research in the field of Brain-Computer Interfaces. The Award is open to any Brain-Computer interface research worldwide and 12 projects are nominated before the winner is announced. There is no limitation or special consideration for the type of hardware and software used in the submission.

More information:
Download the BCI Award Flyer: Flyer BCI Award 2017 (pdf)

March 18th, 2017 – Election 2017 Results

The  2017 Board Member election has been closed. 133 members (56%) voted for filling 4 board positions (2 for Noninvasive BCI and 2 for Implanted BCI). We are pleased to announce that the following candidates have been elected:

Topic Noninvasive BCI:
Brendan Allison (University of California San Diego, USA)
Donatella Mattia (Fondazione Santa Lucia, Italy)

Topic Implanted BCI:
Jennifer Collinger (University of Pittsburg, USA)
Marc Slutzky (Northwestern University, USA)

We thank the following retiring Board members for their contributions to the Board:
Erik Aarnoutse (University Medical Center Utrecht, Netherlands)
Eric Sellers (East Tennessee State University, USA)
Brendan Allison (re-elected in 2017)
We also thank the other candidates for participating in this election round:
Jan van Erp (University of Twente & TNO, Netherlands)
Dean Krusienski (Old Dominion University, USA)
Jin Jing (East China University, China)
Ayse Gunduz (University of Florida, USA)
Masayuki Hirata  (Osaka University, Japan)


March 8th, 2017 – In preparation for the next BCI Society meeting in 2018, the Board is working with Marc Slutzky (Northwestern, Chicago) to apply for funding from NIDCD for student and postdoc travel awards. Obtaining this grant will encourage young scientists to attend the meeting and expand their network in the BCI field.