Machine Learning for BCI

5:00pm CET, 11:00am EST, 8:00am PST, 12:00am CST Presented by Christian Herff, Maastricht University Recorded brain activity displays complex non-linear dynamics and is highly participant and even session dependent. Furthermore, the signals often display many non-stationarities. To still make sense of these challenging data, specific consideration for the machine learning approach must be made.  In […]

WS 1: Brain-computer interfaces for the assessment of patients with disorders of consciousness

2:00pm CET, 8:00am EST, 5:00am PST, 12:00am AEDT, 9:00pm (CST) Registration deadline: February 2nd Presenters Christoph Guger, g.tec medical engineering Damien Coyle, Ulster University Kyousuke Kamada, Hokashin Group Megumino Hospital Rossella Spataro, University of Palermo Jing Jin, East China University Steven Laureys, University Liege, BE Abstract Some patients diagnosed as vegetative are reclassified as (at […]

WS 2: On the need of good practices and standards for Benchmarking Brain-Machine Interfaces

4:00pm CET, 10:00am EST, 7:00am PST, 2:00am AEDT, 11:00pm (CST) Registration deadline: February 25 Presenters Ricardo Chavarriaga, Zurich University Applied Sciences, ZHAW (Switzerland) ; Chair IEEE Industry Connections group on neurotechnologies for brain-machine interface (https://twitter.com/r_chavarriaga) Paul Sajda, Columbia University (USA), Chair IEEE BRAIN Initiative José Contreras-Vidal, FIEEE, NSF IUCRC BRAIN Center, University of Houston (USA) ; Co-Chair IEEE […]

EEG Analysis

1:00am CEST, 7:00pm EST, 4:00pm PST Presented by Jason Palmer, Osaks University Introduction to EEG Analysis for BCI We introduce the theory and practice of analyzing EEG data for BCI applications. We discuss the origin of the EEG signal and recording methods. We also give a brief introduction to analysis methods such as time-frequency analysis […]

WS 3: The promise of BCI-driven functional recovery after stroke: leveraging current evidence to define next steps

1:00pm CET, 7:00am EDT, 4:00am PDT, 11:00pm AEDT, 8:00pm (CST) Registration deadline: March 18 Presenters David Lin, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA, USA Christoph Guger, g.tec medical engineering GmbH, Austria Kyousuke Kamada, M.D., Asahikawa University, Japan Murat Akcakaya, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, PA, USA George F. Wittenberg, M.D., Ph.D., VA Pittsburgh HS, University of […]

WS 4: Biomimetic approaches to restore somatosensation

3:00pm CET, 9:00am EST, 6:00am PST, 1:00am AEDT, 10:00pm CST Registration deadline: April 1 Presenters Robert Gaunt, University of Pittsburgh Sliman Bensmaia, University of Chicago Karthik Kumaravelu, Duke University Alberto Mazzoni, The BioRobotics Institute Scuola Superiore Sant' Anna Emily Graczyk, Case Western Reserve University Luke Bashford, California Institute of Technology Christopher Hughes, University of Pittsburgh […]

Adaptive BCI invasive

6:00pm (CEST)/12:00pm (EST)/9:00am (PST) Presented by Amy Orsborn, University of Washington Design considerations for closed-loop decoder adaptation algorithms in invasive BCIsClosed-loop decoder adaptation (CLDA) is a powerful technique in invasive brain-computer interfaces. CLDA is frequently used to train and optimize decoding algorithms “in situ,” reducing errors in performance that arise due to differences between open […]

WS 5: Open-source Python tools for BCIs

4:00pm CET, 10:00am EST, 7:00am PST, 2:00am AEDT, 11:00pm CST Registration deadline: April 15 Presenters Pierre Clisson, Timeflux Research Group Sylvain Chevallier, LISV, Universite Paris-Saclay Marco Congedo, GIPSA-lab, CNRS, University of Grenoble Alpes Raphaëlle Bertrand-Lalo, Timeflux Research Group Abstract The field of Brain-Computer Interfaces is currently experiencing a momentum, attracting both researchers and hackers. At […]

Adaptive BCI non-invasive

6:00pm (CEST)/12:00pm (EST)/9:00am (PST) Presented by Serafeim Perdikis, University of Essex Adaptation and learning in non-invasive brain-computer interaction Non-invasive brain-computer interface (BCI) has entered an era of relative technological maturity, where BCI prototypes are increasingly deployed as assistive devices and rehabilitation interventions, or towards able-bodied user applications like entertainment and driving assistance. The main obstacles […]

WS 6: Non-invasive BCIs for people with cerebral palsy

10:00pm CET, 4:00pm EDT, 1:00pm PDT, 6:00am AEST, 4:00am (CST) Registration deadline: May 13, 2021 Presenters Jane Huggins, University of Michigan Katya Hill, University of Pittsburgh Petra Karlsson, Cerebral Palsy Alliance, University of Sydney Reinhold Scherer, University of Essex Abstract Many people with cerebral palsy have complex communication needs. Non-invasive BCIs offer an immediate opportunity […]

Next Gen: Industry Academia Talks (free event)

8:00 pm-9:00 pm EST5:00pm (PST), 10:00am+1 (ACT), 8:00am+1 (China Time) To watch the recording please click here Join us for this novel online event mixing Industry and Academia talks.  Our […]